7th Floor, Moposo House, Maseru


( 266)2231 2479


Feature Box Image

Electricity Sector

The electricity industry in Lesotho is dominated by two state owned entities, namely the Lesotho Electricity Company (LEC), which is the monopoly transmitter, distributor and supplier of electricity, and the Lesotho Highlands Development Authority (LHDA), which is the main generator of electricity through its Muela Hydro Power Station.
Feature Box Image

Water Sector

The Water Sector in Lesotho comprises of Commissioner of Water(CoW), Lesotho Electricity and Water Authority (LEWA), Department of Rural Water Supply (DRWS), Department of Water Affairs (DWA), Lesotho Highlands Development Authority (LHDA), Water and Sewerage Company (WASCO) and Lesotho Meteorological Services (LMS), each of which plays an integral role in the Water Sector.

Welcome to LEWA

More than 18 years of experience mandated with regulating the electricity sector, urban water and sewerage services in the country.

Lesotho Electricity and Water Authority (LEWA) was established through the Lesotho Electricity Authority (LEA) Act. No. 12 of 2002 as amended. The Authority operates in line with the Government policy on electricity and water supply matters. LEWA is funded through License fees and customer levies.

Call to ask any question : (+266) 2231 2479 or Fax (+266) 2231 5094

Latest News

Key players in Water and Electricity Sector

For anything electricity, urban water, and sewerage services, We are available