7th Floor, Moposo House, Maseru


( 266)2231 2479


The Lesotho Electricity and Water Authority (LEWA) will host the first set of bi-annual
meetings of the Regional Energy Regulators Association of Southern Africa (RERA)
Subcommittees and Portfolio Committees in Maseru, Lesotho on 17 – 21 April and 09
-12 May 2023, respectively.

The Subcommittees will deliberate on technical regulation of electricity, oil and gas,
economic regulation, consumer services and communication, legal and legislative as
well as human resource matters within the Southern African Development
Community (SADC) energy regulation industry. The Portfolio Committees will
consider and approve reports and recommendations from the Subcommittees
deliberations and recommend the same to the Executive Committee.

The above-mentioned meetings will provide an opportunity for RERA Member
Regulators to evaluate the achievements made so far and to identify areas for
improvement that require more focus to fulfil RERA’s mandate. Through this sharing
of insights and experiences, RERA is able to provide a platform for successful
collaboration and cooperation in regulation and thus pave the way for sound
investment in the region’s energy sector.

During these meetings, a mandatory peer review of the host regulator, LEWA, will be
conducted. In an exclusive interview with the LEWA News, the LEWA Focal Person
to RERA, Mr. Monti Ntlopo explained that the LEWA will benefit from the peer review
exercise from its sister regulators and other various stakeholders. He further
mentioned that the peer review is going to cover the three pillars of regulation
namely: (1) Governance (establishing laws and mandate); (2) Substance (what and
how LEWA regulates); and (3) Impact (contributions made in the sector and to the

RERA is an Association of Energy Regulators in the SADC region. The SADC
Ministers responsible for Energy established this Association, initially focusing on
electricity regulation only, on 12 July 2002 at their meeting held in Maseru, Lesotho.
RERA’s mandate was expanded from electricity to energy regulation in 2019. RERA
Member Regulators currently come from Angola, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho,
Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Tanzania, Zambia and

Zimbabwe. It is important to mention that in 2022, twenty years since RERA was
established in the Mountain Kingdom, the LEWA was elected as Chairperson of the